Don’t Make a Mountain…

Have you ever stood at the beginning of a week and upon seeing all of the busyness that lies therein, you feel about one anxious thought short of a panic attack? I’m facing one of those weeks right now. Chore on top of chore on top of responsibility on top of responsibility on top of errand on top of errand on top of appointment on top of appointment on top of activity on top of activity loom before me, and then on top of that add a holiday and a couple of sick kids. Oh, the mountain is formidable! Surely, I will never get to the top of it in one piece. Certainly, I will find myself stranded somewhere halfway up that impossible height with no hope of rescue, and then… like a helicopter ride to the top of mount Everest, I discover a week changing, perhaps life changing truth. Of course, it’s nothing that hasn’t been said before. In fact, it’s not even something new to me, but for some reason, every time my boat starts to sink, I have to panic before I remember that there is a life jacket stowed safely beneath my seat. Every time my plane starts diving for the hills, I need to cry out in alarm before I remember that I have a parachute attached firmly to my back. Why do I do this? Why do WE do this? I’m not sure, but when I realized what I already knew, a panic attack did not seem so necessary after all.

I don’t need to make it through the whole week in one day. I don’t even need to see the top of the mountain yet. I’ve got 7 days to climb it. Today, I’m just going to do today. If today’s mountain is too big to climb, then just look at the next hour, the next minute, the next second. We can ALWAYS take the next step. Don’t look up at the summit. Just look at the next foothold. Wow! Life changing, right?! Of course some of you are thinking, “Um, more like common sense.” Even so, in the midst of the storm, sometimes it’s hard to find the flashlights and the blankets and the survival food. So, instead of trying to take a running start and attempting to conquer your mountain in one flying leap before face planting squarely into the side of it and becoming one with the mountain moss, remember that today you are not facing a mountain. It’s just a big hill that you are more than able to climb. I can’t promise you that you won’t have an asthma attack, but I can assure you that if you keep your inhaler close by, you will be just fine. You might even have time to sit down and write a blog, or read a blog, or bake a cake, or eat a cake (of course not the whole thing). 😉 You can do it! You might have to swallow a little bit of pride and let someone help you, or even give yourself permission to let something go all together, but whatever you do… DON’T MAKE A MOUNTAIN! There will be enough naturally occurring ones for you to climb without you stacking up mole hills in order to create one for yourself.

Life saving devices:

Flotation device = Support system and/or Prioritization (What can someone else help you with, or what can you let go of all together?)  

Parachute = Prayer (Ask God for help. He is more than able to get you to the end of what you’re facing.)

Flashlight, Warm blanket, Survival food = Scripture (All the wisdom and strength you need for every situation is in the Bible at your fingertips.)

Inhaler = Relaxation (Just take a moment… take a deep breath, relax, and refocus on God and the blessings in your life.)

Verses:

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

-Philippians 4:6-7

“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

-Matthew 6:34

“I can do all this through him who gives me strength.”

-Philippians 4:13

Leave a Reply

